I thought I was ready to bear it ย for few more minutes.Tense palms trying too ventilate the incoming darkness in the alleys of my mind.Sensible fingers attending to my fallen strands.Careful voices trying ,in vain, to unwind the tangles of transient mortality.Strokes of hand trying to fathom my pain.

Two minutes gone.

I cursed my lips,in an act of gulping in the pain.Futile!Slowly it was enwrapping the lines of my body.Familiar faces.Unknown emotions. And an aura of new hope diffusing through the rotten truths and broken promises.

Another minute!

Those onlookers had a choice.I didn’t. For the first time,I found an utter satisfaction residing in that pain, as I dreamt of her standing in the horizon, playing with those long tresses in no way unlike her mother.And the shadowy glimmer of her sun-baked the skin blinding my eyes, accentuating the innocent ripples of her smile.I knew days from now when she is going to search for me she would find me in those folded pages of my diary, with-holding those million dreams.

All those black and white masks were slowly receding from my view.Now it was only both of us.I could sense those thoughts wading their way through the watery ridges of my eyes, as the fourth minute passed by.

And by the Fifth minute,the signs of my pain became prominent on the creases of the hospital bed.As I felt her ecstatic arrival,I did make it to those five minutes.After forty weeks,before befriending darkness, I heard those last few words ,”Its a Girl, Ma’am.”

My dreams and reality merged finally.

“..and I saw her standing in horizon”
Photography by:Aritro Chakravorty

Those five minutes I was a proud mother for it was her whom I saw growing up;and me growing grey but without her.

{Topic suggestion: Shubham Roy(authorsinxcess.wordpress)}

{Photography by:Aritro Chakravorty}

